Honors & Awards

WSLHA accepts nominations for Honors and Awards throughout the year. Nominations must be postmarked by September 1st of the year the award is to be presented. Honors and awards recipients will be honored at the annual fall Convention of the Association. Honors of the Association recipients will receive a plaque or framed certificate and Life Membership in the Association. Clinical Achievement Award recipients receive a plaque or framed certificate. Please direct questions to Nancy Alarcon, Honors & Awards Committee Chair.

Clinical Achievement Award | 
Nomination Form | Past Recipients

This award is presented to a WSHLA member who demonstrates advancement of knowledge in clinical practices as evidenced by significant accomplishment within the last three years in clinical service in speech-language pathology or audiology. There are no limitations to any particular type of clinical achievement or activity. Some examples of eligible activities or accomplishments for which an individual may be considered for the award include:

  • Achievement with a single client or group of clients; 

  • Clinical service programming; 

  • Program development.

The name of the person receiving the WSHLA Clinical Achievement Award will be Washington's nominee for the DiCarlo Award, which is granted by the American Speech & Hearing Foundation.

Honors of the Association | Nomination Form | Past Recipients

The highest honor WSHLA can bestow, is presented to an individual who has exhibited an active participation in the profession for no less than five years or who has made an outstanding contribution which has benefited the profession. The activities must show unusual contribution in one or more of the following areas:

  • Service to WSHLA, including service or committees on the Executive Board, or in other significant capacities

  • Clinical Service in the area of communication disorders

  • Academic teaching in communication science or other disorders

  • Research or publications contributing to the knowledge needed in the profession 

  • Contribution to the profession in an unusual way (i.e., extensive effort in legislation benefiting the profession, service on state and federal committees that improve the effectiveness of the profession, etc.

Special Recognition Award
 | Nomination Form | Past Recipients

This is the highest award presented to an individual(s) or group(s) outside the professions. The nominee should have made a major contribution in one or more of the following areas:

  • Consumer advocacy

  • Legislative or other governmental affairs activity

  • Public awareness

  • Research

  • Service to the Association.

Members of the Association, practicing audiologist and speech-language pathologists, or previous SRA recipients are not eligible.

Past Recipients

The ACE is a formal recognition of professionals who have demonstrated their commitment to lifelong learning by earning 7.0 CEUs (70 contact hours) within a 36-month period.